National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (NKUA) was founded in 1837 and is the oldest University in Greece. The Department of Informatics and Telecommunications (DI&T) ( was founded in 1989 and is part of the School of Applied Sciences. It consists of three divisions: Computer Science; Computer Systems and Applications; Telecommunications and Signal Processing.
The Advanced Networking Research group ( has a focus on algorithmic aspects and performance evaluation for network resource allocation and optimization, with main application to ad-hoc, mobile, content, autonomic, opportunistic, social and future networking. The group has been involved in a number of international projects, funded mainly by the European Commission (VIDEOGATEWAY, BROADWAY, E-NET, E-NEXT, ACCA, FET/FIRE-ANA, FET/FIRE-CASCADAS, FET/FIRE-BIONETS, CONTENT, SOCIALNETS, RECOGNITION, EINS), as well as in several national projects. The Software Centric & Autonomic Networking (SCAN) group ( has a recent focus on Mobile/Wireless Communications, SDN, NFV, Advanced Applications and Services, Self-organizing, Reconfigurable and Cognitive Radio Systems, as well as IoT. SCAN comprises about 20 researchers and engineers and has about 10 industrial contracts in the areas of Big Data analytics, 5G networking, ADN, SDN & NFV. SCAN researchers have been actively striving for wide-area dissemination of research results through ETSI AFI, ETSI RRS, IEEE P1900, UMTS Forum, GreenTouch, 3GPP, DMTF, and TMF. SCAN has been involved in numerous international, mainly EU, and national projects (H2020 5GINFIRE, H2020 Fed4Fire+, H2020 Privacy Flag, ICT FP7 METIS, FI-WARE FIspace and SmartAgriFood, ICT FP7 UniverSelf, CIP PSP LiveCity and SPECIFI, ICT FP7 Self‐NET, ICT FP7 SACRA, ICT FP7 CONSERN, ICT FP7 Where2, IST FP7 E3, IST FP6 E2R, E2R II, LIAISON, IST FP5 MOBIVAS and ANWIRE).

Hits: 286